Distinguished Service Award


Congratulations to Jeff Thede!

Jeffrey C. Thede earned his bachelor’s degree at the University of Oregon and his law degree at Willamette University College of Law. He began his legal career with Miller Nash LLP in 1979 and was with the firm until December 2007, when he left Miller Nash to form Thede Culpepper Moore Munro & Silliman LLP with four of his partners. Jeff’s practice emphasizes estate and trust planning and administration, charitable planning, and tax-exempt organizations. He is admitted to practice in Oregon and Washington.
Jeff is a member and past president of the Estate Planning Council of Portland, a Fellow of the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel, the Chair of the ACTEC Charitable Planning and Exempt Organizations Committee, and a member of the Northwest Planned Giving Roundtable. Jeff is a frequent and sought-after speaker who is always willing to share his time and expertise in estate and charitable planning.

Jeff volunteers with a variety of charitable organizations, including colleges, foundations, and land trusts. He has served on the boards of Portland Opera Association, the Oregon Cascades Chapter of the American Red Cross, and the ACTEC Foundation. He is also a member of the planned giving advisory committees of Oregon Health & Science University Foundation and Providence Foundations—Oregon. Jeff is a past president of Oswego Lake Country Club.
Jeff has been married to his wife Jan since 1979 and has two children. He enjoys golf, traveling, thinking about learning a foreign language, thinking about learning to play the piano, and the occasional game of cards.

NWPGRT is proud to recognize Jeff for his ongoing achievements in his profession and his dedication to charitable planning, the nonprofit community, and estate and trust planning. He was honored at the NWPGRT Conference luncheon on September 21, 2023, at the Sentinel Hotel in Portland, Oregon.

About the Distinguished Service Award

Northwest Planned Giving Roundtable has a rich history of serving Oregon and Southwest Washington as the professional resource for the planned giving community. This mission has been profoundly impacted by many who have inspired and exemplified excellence in the profession. The Distinguished Service Award was established in 2008 to recognize those exceptional individuals for their commitment and dedication to that effort.

Qualities of award recipients include but are not limited to:

  • Demonstrated quality leadership in planned giving
  • Longevity in planned giving (minimum of 5 years)
  • Diversity of public service
  •  Service to the planned giving profession through writing, teaching, mentoring and training
  •  Integrity, including an interest in introducing solutions that are beneficial to both the donor and charitable organization
  •  A technical understanding of planned giving
Past Award Recipients

2022 – Wes Milligan
2019 – Michael Macnab
2018 – Marcia Director
2017 – Sharon Kloss Hogan
2016 – Ann Barden
2015 –  Pete Sommerfeld
2014 – Gene Christian
2013 – Gerald Westersund
2012 – Robert Depew
2011 – Jerry Tucker
2010 – Barbara Stallcup Miller
2009 – Lon Dufek
2008 – Al Zimmerman