Distinguished Service Award

Congratulations to our DSA Honoree: MARCIA DIRECTOR

NWPGRT is pleased to recognize Marcia J. Director as this year’s DSA recipient for her lifelong fundraising career and service to NWPGRT.  A past-president of NWGPRT, Marcia’s career has spanned nearly 40 years in development including OMSI, The Library Foundation, Oregon College of Art & Craft, Albertina Kerr Centers, The Dougy Center and currently as the Director of Development for The Geezer Gallery and principal at MJD Fundraising Solutions. Marcia has served on the boards of  AFP and NWPGRT (as Conference Committee Chair and Co-Chair, Secretary, Vice President, and President of the Executive Committee).

Congratulations Marcia!

About the Distinguished Service Award

The Northwest Planned Giving Roundtable Distinguished Service Award was established in 2008 to recognize individuals who have exemplified exceptional commitment and dedication to the planned giving effort and community. The Distinguished Service Award is presented yearly at the annual conference luncheon to honor the career of a professional who exemplifies these qualities:

  • Demonstrated quality leadership in planned giving
  • Longevity in planned giving (minimum of 5 years)
  • Diversity of public service
  •  Service to the planned giving profession through writing, teaching, mentoring and training
  •  Integrity, including an interest in introducing solutions that are beneficial to both the donor and charitable organization
  •  A technical understanding of planned giving


Past Award Recipients

2017 – Sharon Hogan
2016 – Ann Barden
2015 –  Pete Sommerfeld
2014 – Gene Christian
2013 – Gerald Westersund
2012 – Robert Depew
2011 – Jerry Tucker
2010 – Barbara Stallcup Miller
2009 – Lon Dufek
2008 – Al Zimmerman